Saint-Saëns and Sol Gabetta's cello

“Passion, fire, wit and emotional commitment: all these elements does Sol Gabetta control and share”. This is how the Süddeutsche Zeitung commented on the Argentinean cellist who has been conquering prestigious stages worldwide. Discovered during the Luzern Festival in 2004 with the Wiener Philharmoniker conducted by Valery Gergiev, she has won important prizes like the 2007 and 2009 Echo Klassik, and the 2010 Grammophon Award as “Young Artist of the Year”.  She will be playing once again with the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della Rai on Thursday 23 April at 9 pm at Rai’s Auditorium “Arturo Toscanini” in Turin where she will perform Camille Saint-Saëns’ Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor Op. 33. The concert will be aired on Radio3 and streamed on www.osn.rai.it and www.classica.rai.it.
Ukrainian conductor Kirill Karabits, Principal Conductor of the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, will be on the podium and will be opening the concert with Sergei Prokofiev’s Sinfonietta in A major Op. 5/48. The concert will then close with Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 3 in D major Op. 29, also known as the Polish symphony due to the recurring dance rhythms used in the final movement.
The concert will have its second performance on Friday 24 April at 8.30 pm.

“Freedom Day” to celebrate Liberation anniversary

Seventy years since Liberation will be celebrated by the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della Rai on Saturday 25 April through a specific “Freedom Day”, with several events, all free of charge. Throughout the day, and beginning at 10 am, the Rai Orchestra’s different chamber ensembles will be performing on the stage of Rai’s auditorium “Arturo Toscanini” in Turin. Historian Gianni Oliva will open the event with a speech dedicated to the Liberation issue. He will be followed, at approximately 10.20 am, by the Horn and Strings Quintet – made up of Marco Panella (horn), Roberto D’Auria (violin), Rossana Dindo (viola), Giovanni Matteo Brasciolu (viola), and Emanno Franco (cello) – perfoming Mozart’s Horn Quintet in E flat major KV 407. (More)

Fabio Biondi interpreting Bach and Pergolesi

He is one of the pioneers of the new Baroque school. He has conducted some of the most prestigious ancient music ensembles, dedicated to performing according to original standards and on original instruments. His name is Fabio Biondi and he will be making his debut with the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della Rai on Wednesday 29 April at 8.30 pm at the Auditorium Rai “Arturo Toscanini” in Turin, with live broadcasting on Radio3 and streamed live on www.classica.rai.it. The program includes the Concerto in G major for flute, strings and continuo attributed to Giovanni Battista Pergolesi, and Johann Sebastian Bach’s Suite-Ouverture No. 2 in B minor BWV 1067 for flute, strings and continuo, both interpreted by Giampaolo Pretto, first flute of the Rai Orchestra.
During the second part of the concert Fabio Biondi will be conducting another piece by Pergolesi: his Stabat Mater, for soprano, alto, strings and organ, written in Pozzuoli’s monastery, where the composer died of tuberculosis at the young age of twenty-six. Soprano Jennifer O’ Loughlin and alto Sara Mingardo will be the vocal interpreters.
The concert will have its second performance on Thursday 30 April at 9 pm.

Stagione Sinfonica 2013-2014

Buy tickets On Line

Listen to live concerts
from Radio3